cover art for The Black Hole

The Black Hole

LP: Buena Vista 5008
CD (expanded): Disney/Intrada D001383402
CD (standard): bootlegs

    Track Listing for the standard editions

  1. Overture
  2. Main Title
  3. The Door Opens
  4. Zero Gravity
  5. Six Robots
  6. Durant is Dead
  7. Start the Countdown
  8. Laser
  9. Into the Hole
  10. End Title

    Track Listing for the expanded edition

  1. Overture
  2. Main Title
  3. That's It
  4. Clower Look
  5. Zero Gravity
  6. Cygnus Floating
  7. The Door Opens
  8. Pretty Busy
  9. Six Robots
  10. Can You Speak?
  11. Poor Creatures
  12. Ready to Embark
  13. Start the Countdown
  14. Durant is Dead
  15. Laser
  16. Kate's O.K.
  17. Hot and Heavy
  18. Meteorites
  19. Raging Inferno
  20. Hotter and Heavier
  21. Bob and V.I.N.C.E.N.T.
  22. Into the Hole
  23. End Title
  24. In, Through . . . and Beyond!

The Movie

After Star Wars made so much money that California threatened to collapse into the ocean under the weight of it all, everyone got in line to try to cash in on the Science Fantasy market. Disney's attempt was The Black Hole, which looked promising until they brought out the cutesy robot and "Into the Hole" took on a whole different meaning.

This is just a bad movie—I don't know how else to say it. I've seen it twice; once around the time it came out when I was a teen, and again when I was probably in my early 30s when I had forgotten it. I wanted to like it so much, and I was terribly let down both times. They took a decent basic premise: the crew of a space ship finds a "lost" ship that's orbiting a black hole. The master of the ship is preparing to enter it and see what's on the other side. But they cutsied it up until it became unwatchable. You have to wonder what goes on the heads of people—their target audience was preteens and teens. I remember being that age, and I know people who currently are—and none of them can stand cute.

So what could have been another Forbidden Planet ended up being a big budget Buck Rogers (the NBC version), which also tanked. Good riddence.

The Music

Some good stuff, though not exactly the kind of music I would play on a rainy afternoon.

Release Notes

The album came out at the time of the film's release and was easy to obtain. But the OST never got a CD release for reasons I have never understood, as Disney has always been keen on exploiting their properties. The result was a lot of bootleg editions of varying quality, including one where it was paired with Born Free, which also went a very long time without an official CD release.

Intrada released a remastered and expanded edition in 2011; according to, it's under the Walt Disney Records and Intrada label, same catalog number. It appears to be expensive (over $100) now (as of 2022). Hopefully Disney's avarice will prevail and they'll re-release it.

Return to the main page